Week 10: Attitude of Gratitude

We have continued to eliminate negative thinking, label read, recognize the importance of breathing, add positive affirmations into our daily lives, eliminate high fructose corn syrup (fructose as well) & dyes from our diet, sit in silence within nature for 30 minutes a day, set goals in our lives, eliminate preservatives from the diet and practice forgiveness. This week, we are going to initiate an attitude of gratitude. In other words, we are going to recognize all we have to be thankful for in life.

It is inevitable in life to have challenges and tough times. Life is often a cycle where things come and things go. Life can be grand and then we can feel like it is crashing. One of the things that I have found to offer permanent truth in my life is to always be thankful for what we do have. If we are to focus on the lack, then more of the lacking will be prominent in life. If we are to focus on unhappiness, then we will notice more unhappy aspects to life. Even in relationships, if we focus on what upsets us or drives us crazy about that other person, we will miss the many blessings and reasons why they are in our life.

level-of-gratitude-w3g79z

I try to find gratitude in all things present in my life. Even during the hard times, I offer thanks for my home, my family, the participant I serve through chiropractic, Angie who helps me run the office as well as my life, my chiropractic community and so much more. No matter what life brings, I know I am flooded with abundance and have everything I need at that exact moment.

A few years back, I went through the unthinkable. I lost my then youngest daughter 3 week before she turned 3. Her passing and all that went on during her cancer diagnosis was insane. Through it all, I was so thankful to have another day until that day came where she wasn’t in my physical presence any longer. After she passed, I was in misery. I was empty, lost and felt hopeless. I decided for the sake of my oldest daughter, I had to find the greatness in this story. I had to give thanks for all I still had in life or I knew it would all fall apart.

Through the following months, I saw the blessings I still had even though my heart was extremely heavy. I at least had Eva by my side as well and to me that was worth everything to still have her love & presence. As I continued to offer my thanks to the world, I saw more blessings. I welcomed more blessings as they came my way.

When I left to come back to America, I had no definitive place to live, no job, no income as a now single mother, no car and no idea how things were going to turn out. I had faith it would be okay and I gave thanks for what hadn’t even unfolded into my life. I gave thanks for love re-entering my life, for people I could serve through chiropractic and for abundance to come. Within a year, I was living with the love of my life, serving over a hundred a week through chiropractic in my new practice, I had 2 cars available to take me where I needed to go and life felt like it was still improving. Eva was doing great and I was proud of how I allowed things to progress through gratitude.

I am sure you have heard of the saying like attracts like. In this case, giving thanks will always allow you to see the positive, overcome the negative all while attracting more greatness. I can honestly say that I have never heard of someone overcoming life’s obstacles successfully while having an attitude of lack, sadness & despair. Have you?

This week, be thankful for everything! Even if it seems small. Be thankful for the food that nurtures your body, the air that you breathe, the job that you have (even if it has challenges), the roof over your head, the car that you drive, even the bills that you pay. Yes! Even bills. I give thanks as I pay each one considering I am blessed to have the funds to pay them. Money is an energetic exchange just like everything in life. It will come and go like all things but we will always be taken care of in the long run. With faith and gratitude, it will always work out in your favor.

b8c681f0285c01abac4570985b6c1d4d

Resources:

Books: “Attitude of Gratitude” by M.J. Ryan and “Count Your Blessings: Healing Power of Gratitude & Love” by J. DiMartini

https://positivepsychologyprogram.com/9-best-books-gratitude/

Websites:

https://www.umassd.edu/counseling/forparents/reccomendedreadings/theimportanceofgratitude/

http://happierhuman.com/benefits-of-gratitude/

http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/why_gratitude_is_good

Leave a Reply

